U16 lose narrowly to Ballaghaderreen

By Billy Horan, Club PRO

Ballaghaderreen pipped visiting Ballinrobe by two points – 2-12 to 2-10 – in the opening round of the JJ Burke Renault Mayo U16 D football championship, section two, last week.

The home side was in front by 1-6 to 0-4 at half-time, but Ballinrobe made more of an impact after play resumed. Goals by Ross Philbin and Evan O’Brien helped to fashion an advantage of 2-10 to 1-9 by the 45th minute.

Ballaghaderreen, however, responded resolutely to the challenge and the necessary scores emerged in an exciting finish to claim victory.

Figuring with distinction for Ballinrobe were Evan O’Brien, Padraig Og Horan, Christopher Vahey, Kieran Finnerty, Evan Reaney, Evan Gannon and Ross Philbin.

Ballinrobe scorers: E O’Brien (1-4), P Og Horan (0-4); R Philbin (1-0), K Finnerty (0-1), O Hanlon (0-1),

Ballinrobe: D Lynagh; E Sheridan, C Vahey, E Reaney; E Langan, O O’Malley (captain), E Gannon; R Philbin, P Og Horan; L Burke, E O’Brien, K Finnerty; R Jennings, O Hanlon, D Joyce. Sub: S Maughan.

[Category News, Slider, Twitter Auto Post[