County title for minor ladies team

Congratulations to our minor ladies football team who captured the Mayo C Shield title in almost unbearable excitement at the Centre of Excellence, Bekan, this morning. The final score was Ballinrobe 2-6, Castlebar Mitchels 0-10. It took a huge effort by Ballinrobe to win it and the two second-half goals from Abby Jennings, who batted home a Grace Bradley free, and Grace herself were the crucial scores. Considering that this is our first year fielding a minor team in this current incarnation of the club, this is an incredibly important result for the club. Special word of congratulations to the coaching team of Tom Carney and Denise Horan, who have done huge work with this team this year, and Evan O’Brien, who came on board in recent times. Team captain Sinead O’Sullivan accepted the trophy on behalf of the team, and goalkeeper, Rebecca Mellott-Connolly, received the player of the match award.  The homecoming will be at 3pm today in Abbey Street, Ballinrobe – come out to acknowledge the achievement if you’re about town today. Our U12 girls won a county title earlier this season too – onwards and upwards for ladies football in our club. Today also marked an historic moment for the club as we had our first all-female commentary team on Club Radio – Aoife Donnelly (left) and Elaine O’Donnell. They are pictured below with captain Sinead. A big crowd tuned in to follow the  game every step of the way.You can listen to the full commentary HERE            

County title for minor ladies team Read More »