Defeat for seniors

By Billy Horan, Club PRO

Wasteful use of scoring opportunities did not deter Shrule-Glencorrib from defeating Ballinrobe by 0-13 to 0-9 in the opening round of Group 1 of the O’Mara Cup at Flanagan Park, Ballinrobe, on Sunday.

The sides were level 0-6 apiece at the interval and while Ballinrobe did forge ahead by two points after the restart, sustained Shrule-Glencorrib pressure in the final quarter yielded a productive outcome.

Shane Mellett, Colin Hoverty, Eoin Ronaldson, Shane Hennelly, Adrian Moran, Darren McTigue and Conor O’Dowd impressed for Shrule-Glencorrib. Best for Ballinrobe were David Killeen, David Murphy, Conor Keane, Darren McDonnell and Kevin Quinn.

Scorers: Shrule-Glencorrib – E Ronaldson 0-5, G Hennelly 0-4, C Hoverty 0-2, S Mellett and S Mullin 0-1 each. Ballinrobe – D McDonnell 0-6, K Quinn 0-2, D Killeen 0-1.