U16s win well versus Erris St Patrick’s

By Billy Horan, Club PRO

Ballinrobe were emphatic victors in the second round of the JJ Burke Renault U16 D Football Championship, Section 2, last week, defeating a visiting Erris St Patrick’s by 8.25 to 1.5. Early goals by Liam Burke and Dylan Jennings foreshadowed what was to ensue and the locals were comfortably positioned at the interval on a score line of 5.11 to 0.2.

The visitors tried their utmost to put a better face on things after the resumption of the action but to no avail as Ballinrobe extended their advantage.

Evan O’Brien, Evan Gannon, Liam Burke, Padraig Óg Horan, Oran O’Malley and Oisin Hanlon impressed for Ballinrobe. Mickey Conroy, Finian Carolan the scorer of the goal, Alan Barrett, Ciaran Doherty, Conor Kilker and Stephen Grealis, the goalkeeper, were prominent for the losers. Scorers for Ballinrobe: Liam Burke 3.6, Oisin Hanlon 2.3, Evan O’Brien 0.8, Ross Philbin 1.1, D Jennings and M Burke a goal each, K Tierney 0.3, R Jennings 0.2, P Óg Horan and E Langan 0.1.

Ballinrobe team: D Lynagh, E Sheridan, E Reaney, C Vahey, P Óg Horan, E Gannon, Oran O’Malley, Evan O’Brien, D Jennings, L Burke, O Hanlon, K Finnerty, R Philbin, Subs: R O’Neill, M Burke, J Tierney, M McDonald, R Jennings. Referee: Vincent Joyce, Claremorris.