Minors win eight-goal thriller


Gilly’s minors win again

Minor League

Ballinrobe 5-8

Lahardane 3-7


THE Ballinrobe minor footballers came out on the right side of an eight-goal thriller at Flanagan Park last weekend and picked up two crucial points in Division 5 of the County Minor League in the process.

There was very little between our lads and the visitors from North Mayo all through, but Kevin Gilrane and his backroom team were feeling the squeeze when Lahardane went five points up with fifteen minutes to go.

However, all that hard training in The Lough recently paid off for Ballinrobe and, backboned by most of the team that won the Mayo Minor ‘C’ championship last year, they pulled through.

The minors have no league game this weekend but will be back in action next week.

Well done to all the lads and the management team.


Liam Malone, Michael Walsh, David Murphy, Oisin Gannon, David O’Connor, Brendan Murphy, Peter Finnerty, James Murphy, Conor Warde, James Quinn, Tom Lawrence, Aaron Spellman, Stephen Burke.

Subs: Darren McDonnell, Shane O’Connor.